21 thoughts on “Haiku along Earth’s Sky-Path”

  1. I love haiku. Very nicely done, and it reminds me of the similarity between spring and fall: the thin branches and new leaves don’t keep back the light as yet, and bud covers are everywhere. Our back yard has a pin oak, and it is only just losing half of its leaves. I glance out the window and see brown leaves flying across the dead grass and I have to check for myself, is it Spring or is it Fall?

    Like

  2. greenfrog, ever try a tanka?

    On mornings, late March,
    The children rise, rubbing eyes.
    “I dreamed they returned,”
    They say. “I dreamed hummingbirds.”
    Then the first bright bird arrives.

    Like

  3. greenfrog:

    I like the image here of layers of bud husks covering the ground; I think of my run this morning where there were places on the sidewalk where it was all I could do not to crush piles of them and get them stuck to my shoes and drag them through the house.

    Spring cleaning, anyone?

    * * * *

    Th.:

    What is with you and buds/but(t)s lately?

    * * * *

    Patricia:

    Now that I think of it, I could have sent you this spring-y haiku. Your tanka reminded me of it (though there subjects aren’t really related beyond maybe flight and the notion of childhood):

    i regret blowing
    and not blowing
    dandelion clocks

    Like

  4. Now that I think of it, I could have sent you this spring-y haiku.

    I think you just did. 😉

    It would be fun to see more of this—folks writing (or at least folding into the comments) poetry in response to others’ verse.

    But not verse versus verse.

    Like

  5. I think you just did. 😉

    I did, didn’t I?

    (Almost a palindrome…)

    It would be fun to see more of this €”folks writing (or at least folding into the comments) poetry in response to others’ verse.

    I like that idea. Maybe we should start a WIZ renku, something to this effect. (There are two links in this sentence, just FYI; it’s kind of hard to see them the way this text is formatted.)

    * * * *

    verse plus verse

    equals more verse? or is well-versed?

    Like

  6. it’s kind of hard to see them the way this text is formatted.)

    Yeah, I’ve noticed. I’ve got a few invisible links scattered around this thread myself. (For instance, “nature deficit disorder” above bears a link).

    I’ll look into it.

    Like

  7. Tyler,

    I like the image here of layers of bud husks covering the ground; I think of my run this morning where there were places on the sidewalk where it was all I could do not to crush piles of them and get them stuck to my shoes and drag them through the house.

    Though I think the language of the haiku is a bit strained, I liked the image of empty bud husks crunching under my feet, and once I accepted that as the primary (starting point, anyway) image, the rest of the haiku sort of came together when I saw Orion through the maple’s branches and realized that if I saw Orion at his night job, it must be spring.

    Patrice,

    I’m not familiar with tanka forms, though I’ve googled to confirm that it’s a 5-7-5-7-7 structure. Is there a tradition of imagic (non)use with regard to them?

    Like

  8. g.f., if you mouse over “tanka” in my comment above you’ll find an invisolink. That’ll take you there.

    Like

  9. Unexpected scents
    Reach the old dog’s nose. Ears perk.
    Brows lift. And his eyes
    Open to the unconceived–
    Safe, because the door’s ajar.

    Lessee what dreams may come.

    Like

  10. Rich maple walnut,
    Creamy caramel pecan,
    Even rocky road.
    What are these to the nutty
    Divinity of friends’ words?

    Like

Leave a comment